Padma Vibhushan for Ramoji Rao, Padmashri for S S Rajamouli

Written by

Throng of achievements for the Telugu people this year at the national level. Popular media baron Ch Ramoji Rao has been awarded the prestigious Padma Vibhushan by Government of India. The Andhra Pradesh state government has recommended the nomination of Mr Ramoji Rao for Padma Vibhushan award in September last year. The Central Government has announced the final list on Monday. The honor will also be awarded posthumously to Late Dhirubhai Ambani, who founded Reliance Industries.

Adding to the string of achievements is ace director of Tollywood, S S Rajamouli, who has been awarded with the coveted title of Padmashri this year.

Apart from the above two versatile personalities, actor Rajinikanth, former J&K Governor Jagmohan and spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar have also been awarded the Padma Vibhushan. Former CAG Vinod Rai, Bollywood actor Anupam Kher and singer Udit Narayan will be awarded Padma Bhushan.

The government of India had announced the list of recipients of this year’s Padma awards on the eve of the Republic Day. The awardees include actors, media personalities, politicians, public officials and sports persons who have been or still are making the country proud.

Padma Bhushans have also been announced for the former US Ambassador to India, Robert D Blackwill, badminton champion Saina Nehwal, Tennis champion Sania Mirza and Indu Jain of Bennett, Coleman & Co.

Actor Rajinikanth, media baron Ramoji Rao, former J-K governor Jagmohan and spiritual guru Sri Sri Ravi Shankar will be awarded the Padma Vibhushan, the second highest civilian award bestowed by India.

Other winners of Padmashri awards include Senior lawyer Ujjwal Nikam, actors Ajay Devgn and Priyanka Chopra along with Bhojpuri singer Malini Awasthi.



Article Categories:


Menu Title