Daggubati Suresh Babu Elected As President For Telugu Film Chamber of Commerce

Written by

The president of the Telugu Film Chamber of Commerce, Daggubati Suresh Babu has been re-elected amidst a lot of fanfare. The TFCC was earlier known as the Andhra Pradesh Film Chamber of Commerce and the first elections were held on Saturday.

The elections also saw Mr. Suresh Babu’s panel winning a massive majority of 41 out of the 44 executive committee seats. Also, K. Damodar Prasad was made the secretary and Kodali Venkateswara Rao is the treasurer.
The elections for the apex film body were conducted after nearly two years. The reason behind this being the differences over the changing of the name.

The members of the Telangana State Film Chamber claimed that they should be the film trade body representing the industry in the newly formed Telangana State. This prompted the members to change the name from the Andhra Pradesh State Film Chamber of Commerce to the Telugu Film Chamber of Commerce.
Another change that was bought up was that the new body would enjoy a two-year term. The committee met in the last week of June.

The body was able to take many measures as well as initiatives that was for the benefit of the film industry and also enough time to complete the targets that they had set. There are over 1,500 members who are present in the four different sectors, which are majorly divided into the producers, distributors, exhibitors and the studio owners. Every member was a crucial part of the elections that was contested between Suresh Babu and Narayana Das from Asian Films.

Producer Sudhakar Reddy’s panel also contested from the distribution sector whole T. Prasanna Kimar and Natti Kumar were the “rebel” candidates.

Telangana members have also alleged that there is a “monopoly” of sorts from the producers from AP that decided the fate of exhibition of films in theatres across the two states.



Article Categories:
Menu Title