Amaravati Now In The ‘HRIDAY Eight’ Of India

Written by

Amaravati makes it to the list of 8 cities that have been identified by the Heritage Development of the country. These cities will fall under the nation wide HRIDAY scheme rolled in by the Central Government of India.

The People’s Capital, Amaravati, will now be in the list of 8 cities that include Varanasi, Mathura, Ajmer, Dwarka, Badami, Warangal, and Vellankini. As part of the HRIDAY Scheme, the new capital city of Andhra Pradesh will be improved at the cost of Rs 20.33 Cr budget disbursed by the scheme towards the developmental activities for the cities.

Access to Dharanikota Fort, Amaravati Pond, Mahachaitya Stupa, Amaralingeswara Swamy Temple, Kalachakra Museum, Dhyanabuddha Statue and Zamindar Bungalow will be the main points of focus for improvisation under this scheme. Better road connectivity, faster and easier access will be the core aim of the developmental plan of action.

An interpretation center and a walkway of 2.50 km will also be developed as part of this scheme.

About the HRIDAY Scheme

Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana, or HRIDAY as it is called in short, the scheme was launched by the Central Govt of India on 21st January this year with a mission to bring together urban planning, economic growth and conservation of heritage in order to preserve the authenticity of all heritage cities of India.

As part of the deployment strategy, HRIDAY will offer support to all the core heritage infrastructure projects and revive select intangible assets of the country. Main works will also comprise of improved sanitation facilities, better roads, efficient public transport, speedy citizen services and important information providing kiosks at the heritage sites.



Article Categories:
Amaravathi · My City · News
Menu Title