Tirupati, The New Cool Smart City!!

Written by

It’s euphoria and excitement as the new state of AP is set to celebrate. After much deliberation and contemplation, Tirupati is officially the third selected smart city, after Vizag and Kakinada.

The announcement was made by Centre, along with 26 other new cities that were added up to the phase one project. The names include Agra, Amritsar, Thane, Kanpur and Ajmer. Now, 60 cities fall into the gamut of funding for the Smart City mission.

“This willingness and enthusiasm among the cities to participate in more than one round of competition is a clear evidence of the ‘urban renaissance’ set in motion under the new urban sector initiatives of the government,” minister for urban development, M. Venkaiah Naidu, said while announcing the names of the 27 new cities.

The cities that have been selected on Tuesday have submitted a proposal of a total investment of Rs66,883 crore under their respective plans.

“A total investment of Rs144,742 crore has been proposed by the 60 cities under their smart city plans,” Naidu said. The process for selecting the remaining 40 cities will begin from January next year.

Prior to this, Indian government had already announced the names of 33 cities which were selected in the first phase of the smart city mission.

The plan

Complying with the guidelines of the mission, the government was supposed to select 20 cities in the first phase and 40 cities in the next two years. However, change of plans were cited this May when 13 more cities were included in the first phase as part of the mission.

In these, Kakinada and Vizag were announced from Andhra.

Mission Smart City

The smart city mission was launched with the aim of developing 100 smart cities as part of the pilot run envisioned by the Prime Minister. 98 cities were shortlisted during the time of initial submissions in December, where the government included Meerut and Rai Bareilly in Uttar Pradesh and Jammu and Srinagar in Jammu and Kashmir in the competition.

Seven capital cities; Patna, Shimla, Naya Raipur, Itanagar, Amaravati, Bengaluru and Thiruvananthapuram—have also been allowed to participate.

Concrete Budgets

The Smart Cities Mission was launched in June 2015 where the government had also unveiled the guidelines and mission statement for the 100 Smart Cities project.

This mission had been budgeted with Rs.48,000 crore for five years.

Here is wishing all the three cities from AP a glowing smartness in the days to come.

Data source – PTI



Article Categories:
My City · Tirupati
Menu Title