Dadasaheb Phalke Award, a Fitting Honor to K Vishwanath

Written by

On Monday, 24th April 2017, an announcement was made that the nation’s highest award for cinema, the Dadasaheb Phalke award will be conferred to Kasinathuni Viswanath, well known actor and film director.

The recommendation for the latest recipient was made by the Dadasaheb Phalke Award committee which was then approved by Mr. M Venkaiah Naidu, the Union Information and Broadcasting Minister. According to an official statement released at the time, the award is conferred to creative people for their extraordinary contribution to the development and growth of Indian cinema.

The award will be presented by Indian President, Mr. Pranab Mukherjee on 3rd May in New Delhi and will comprise of a Swarn Kamal – a Golden Lotus, a shawl and a cash prize of INR 10 lakhs.

K Vishwanath has directed 50 films till date, most of which are known for their truthfulness to the culture, interesting narration and strong message. In the past, he has received a number of National awards for his works. Some of the popular Hindi films directed by him are Eeshwar, Kaamchor, Sargam, Jaag Utha Insaan and Sanjog.
K Vishwanath was born in Gudivada, a part of present day Andhra Pradesh in February 1930. He has won 5 National Awards, 10 Filmfare Awards including one for Lifetime Achievement and 20 Nandi Awards that were conferred by the
Andhra government. In the year 1992, he was presented with Padma Shri.

His movie, Swati Mutyam meaning White Pearl, which won the National Award went on to be the official entry into the Academy Awards from India in the Best Foreign Film category in the year 1987.



Article Categories:
Menu Title